Governor Roles

The current Full Governing Body for Kenninghall Primary is as follows:

Governor Position Name
Head of School Sharon Medler
Co-Opted Governor Sarah Bailey
Staff Governor Karen Saunders
Chair of Governors Jeremy Hall
LA Governor/Chair Elaine Harris
Parent Governor Mrs Melissa Pilmer
Trust Governor/Vice Chair Denis Canning

School governing bodies are responsible for working with the school to ensure that it delivers the best possible education for each and every child. Together with the Headteacher, who is responsible for day-to-day management, governors set the school’s aims and policies.

We have a strong focus on three core strategic functions:

  • To ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • To hold the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  • To oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure its money is well spent

Governors are also responsible for individual roles such as SEN; Health, Safety & Premises; Child Protection & Safeguarding as well as Finance.

As governors, we work together as a team, under the leadership of the Chair of the governing body. We attend meetings twice a term where we question and challenge the Executive Headteacher and  each other in order to ensure that we are providing the best learning opportunities so that the children at Kenninghall Primary School can achieve their individual potential. Minutes from the Full Governing Body meetings are available on the school’s website.

We welcome your comments and ideas so if you wish to contact any of the governors please do so via the school office.

All Governors have registered their Business Interests with no Pecuniary interests to declare for the 16/17 Academic Year, other than S Bailey and K Saunders being staff members.

Governors can be contacted via the School Office.